Empire Avenue Navigation Gouge

p_lg_3426_802636e485af

Empire Avenue (https://www.empireavenue.com) has been probably best described as a “Social Media stock market” in which the EA currency, eaves, are invested, earned, given, and paid in the process of developing an Empire Avenue stock portfolio that pays dividends in eaves on a daily basis and pays even bigger dividends in the lasting friendships and amiable relationships that are developed with other players across the various platforms of social media in which interactions occur that includes Twitter, Facebook, Google Plus, LinkedIn, YouTube, among others.

I stumbled around on Empire Avenue for the first couple of months and in some regards, I am still stumbling around. I’ve come up with my own strategies over the course of the last couple of years that I’ve been cruising on Empire Avenue but none of my methods are based in any research or verifiable data. I just poke around by trial and error and try to keep on doing what seems to be working. Right or wrong, true or false, these are the conclusions that I’ve made when it comes to navigating around Empire Avenue and getting enough joy out of the process that it is something that I look forward to every day.

1. Just as true in life as it is in Social Media and particularly on Empire Avenue, you just can’t take it too seriously. By that, I mean you can’t let yourself get all emotional about it or allow yourself to get an attitude where you end up developing an enemies list, blocking people, trying to punish them. There’s absolutely no future in it, and much like coping a vengeful attitude in life, carrying grudges, and conspiring against others, the only one that gets hurt is yourself. As the saying goes, it is like taking poison and waiting for the other person to die. Pure insanity. You are better served and will have an infinitely more enjoyable time if you look at Empire Avenue as a cyber-land of opportunity, and primary in the opportunities that Empire Avenue offers is the exposure to new and interesting people from which enjoyable and rich relationships are established within the scope of Social Media. I find myself talking to friends and coworkers about people whom I only know online as though I knew them personally because traversing across the social media accounts of shareholders on Empire Avenue actually produces as well-rounded portrait of the person. Those who would argue that this is a superficial characterization, I would counter that it is no more or less so than the image that people project in person.

2. As enjoyable as the “social” aspect is of Empire Avenue, there is the game itself as a social media stock market, the venue through which the relationships develop tangentially. My strategy there, based on nothing but my own trial-and-error, is to invest heavily in players that are active and have higher-paying dividends. The way that I find these is to go to my portfolio, select “Leaders” and then sort by “weekly dividends.” This gives me a descending list of investments according to the average payout per share, the highest usually being 4.00 eaves per share and goes down to 0.80 or slightly lower in the top 100 listed. I try to buy anyone that pays 1.00 or more, but there are a few other signs I look for before I plunge in and invest heavily. These are not based on scientific evidence but merely my own biased criteria that I use in lieu of an understanding of the actual algorithm that’s used to compute dividends. I look for someone who has made a purchase that day and mentally give them points if the last transaction occurred hours ago, check the number of missions that have been done that week, and look to see what badges they have. The Mission badge is a sure sign of an active player, and the premium member badge indicates a passion for the game beyond that of the average player. I also check the numbers for Instagram and Flickr. I’ve read that Instagram numbers have more weight on Empire Avenue (the way Klout is biased toward Facebook), but I’ve also read that it has no more weight than anything else. Regardless, I consider it an indicator, and I look for double-digits in both.

3. Another thing I do is I watch to see who I see on the Avenue other than on their own profile page. Someone who runs a lot of missions that I do will get more attention from me, but beyond that, I take note of who posts on their Profile page and who makes comments on the mission page. A lot of times I will finish a mission and make my comment, and I will recognize the avatar of someone I’ve seen on the Avenue before in the comment section, and I’ll click on their name and take another look at their profile. Am I maxed in them? How many shares do they have of mine? What kind of missions are they running? What kind of line is created on the graph that represents their 30 day Share Price?

p_sm_EAVLEADERS_0bdffc003a31

EA Leaders, that is, those Empire Avenue players who have invested a $100 into the EA Leaders benefit package and are identified by the EA Leaders badge on their profile page, see the project of helping the uninitiated navigate on the Avenue to be an effort that ultimately will benefit them as much or more than it does the EA player needing help or bouncing around in confusion.

Sure “EA Leaders” get extra bennies like double dividends in other Leaders and bonuses that non-leaders don’t get, but the thing that I probably like the most about EA Leaders is the strong sense of community and the bond of shared experience. Out of that comes a joy in participating in the game called Empire Avenue that is priceless. This money-can’t-buy value is found in areas that are common to the experience of human interaction on a personal level, and that is in the relationships, the ability to help others, to learn, to grown, to acquire and share knowledge – all those things that make life worth living in the real world are the same elements that make Empire Avenue worthwhile. It isn’t because the game is so well structured or has been crafted in a unique or special way, it is a result of Empire Avenue being comprised of people: people who make mistakes; people who succeed; people who care about others; people who are selfish – the same people who compose the variety of life in the everyday world.

I certainly do not know all there is to know – No, far from it – but there is something about the Empire Avenue community of active members that makes helping and bonding with other members a likely outcome of interaction “on the Avenue.” Many more blog posts (all related to Empire Avenue) can be found collected at the following website address: https://www.empireavenue.com/community/page/discuss?c=4248&d=62067871

12 thoughts on “Empire Avenue Navigation Gouge

  1. cdogzilla says:

    Hiya Ron, the title of your blogpost threw me, not sure if I’m misunderstanding, I guess I think of “gouge” as the act of overcharging for something, scamming someone out of a bunch of money 😛 Regards, Chris

    • Gouge is used as is the practice in the parlance of Naval Aviation in which “gouge” is the necessary information, the skinny, and comes from its use as the answers to the test, that is, the gouge. The use of “gouge” is common to airlines pilots and crew. Gouge is often used to mean a collection of “unofficial” but noteworthy info, techniques, and practices that are put in one place for easy finding. For example, “Our company handbook is used proceduraly, but I have another book of “Gouge” with my quick reference lists and techniques”. As such, I feel the term applies as used here.

  2. I love this example: “taking poison and waiting for the other person to die” — it’s so true! It’s so important to remember it is a game and we are all players. I’ve made so many great friends on EA. For me, it’s all about the people.

    • Thanks, Lynn. I wish I could say I came into this enlightened. However, the truth is that I fell victim to petty bitterness, jumping to conclusions, and irrational behavior before realizing how important the relationship element is to the EA community and how much the players have in common.

  3. Important note concerning use of the term “gouge.” Gouge is used as is the practice in the parlance of Naval Aviation in which “gouge” is the necessary information, the skinny, and comes from its use as the answers to the test, that is, the gouge. The use of “gouge” is common to airlines pilots and crew. Gouge is often used to mean a collection of “unofficial” but noteworthy info, techniques, and practices that are put in one place for easy finding. For example, “Our company handbook is used proceduraly, but I have another book of “Gouge” with my quick reference lists and techniques”. As such, I feel the term applies as used here.

  4. IMPORTANT NOTE ON THE USAGE OF “GOUGE” Gouge is often used to mean a collection of “unofficial” but noteworthy info, techniques, and practices that are put in one place for easy finding. For example, “Our company handbook is used proceduraly, but I have another book of “Gouge” with my quick reference lists and techniques”.

Leave a Reply

