Why I deleted my Klout account

Lauren K. Gray

We all talk trash about Klout all the time and I still honestly believe it is not a valid form of measurement. I’ve heard this repeated at almost every conference and have heard this sentiment from the top leaders in social media, PR and marketing.

So I decided to do something about it.

I deleted my Klout account permanently because:

1. I refuse to be a number. What does that number even mean? Nothing. Real influence is based on what kind of audience you can move. Klout measures the wrong thing: It was and will not be a valid form of actual influence any time soon.

2. I talked trash about it, but still took free incentives. I did not feel good about this. I never valued it and only used it for free perks that were never that valuable for me. I don’t need a bunch of free stuff. I…

View original post 238 more words

Leave a Reply

